Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2]  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Open source license choice (Read 14713 times)
Christer Alexander
God Member

Make my day...

Re: Open source license choice
Reply #15 - Jun 3rd, 2002 at 4:43am
Print Post  
Michael wrote on Jun 3rd, 2002 at 12:36am:
Because I'm not a lawyer? Undecided Rather use one that's tried and true, you know? I could write one, I suppose, if I had a general idea of what was "right," but after seeing all these licenses, each written in a different way (compare the GPL vs. the MPL or the NCSA).

Actually, though, maybe something simple would work out, if it's really clear. The NCSA license looks like a good one to that effect. It's about a tenth the size of the rest. Wink Basically says the copyright must be retained and there's no warranty. I just wonder if the "without restriction" part is giving away anything important that I've overlooked?

My brother is a lawyer....want me to ask him to write up a good one?

Code
Select All
unless(0) { stab("LoonyPandora"); next; } 

IP Logged

Michael
God Member

Recursion \Re*cur"sion\,
n. - See recursion.

Reply #16 - Jun 3rd, 2002 at 12:30pm
Print Post  
Quote:
If you are wanting anyone to use your code freely, you don't need a bunch of stipulations. You basically need something that says "Hey, don't remove our copyright. If you incorporate parts of our code into your program, give us due credit. No, you cannot copyright this yourself. We invented it, so it's still ours."
Easiest way to get screwed is to agree to rules you didn't make up, IMHO.